//
cast your eyes over this
// uncategorized

Ten 2 Ten – The Weekly Movie Round-Up

Ten 2 Ten – It’s cowboy time.

Films to wet your taste buds this week include

Whip it

The directorial debut of Drew Barrymore, stars Ellen Page (Juno) as Bliss, a rebellious Texas teen who throws in her small town beauty pageant crown for the rowdy world of roller derby. Marcia Gay Harden (Mystic River, Pollock) plays Bliss disapproving mother, while Kristen Wiig (Saturday Night Live) and Juliette Lewis (Old School) play roller-derby stars.

I’ve heard strong things about this and a small part of me asked why I didn’t go and see this instead of Clash of the Titans, but I will eventually. I would say out of all the films in this batch this is your best bet for fun.

I Am Love

Emma (Tilda Swinton), the matriarch of a wealthy Milanese family, lives in a carefully ordered world where her duty towards husband and children dominates. But a chance encounter ignites long repressed passions and sets her on a journey of sexual awakening.

I had the pleasure of seeing this a couple of weeks ago. I didn’t write a review because I was too engrossed in my Dear John review… Well that’s a poor excuse as this is a beautiful film and had I managed to write a review it would have certainly been Film of the Week. Swinton has always scared me and not much in this film made me change that opinion aside from the fact she a terrific actress, she apparently leant to speak Italian for the role and is generally quite mesmerising.

The Infidel

When Mahmud (Djalili) discovers that he’s not only adopted but a Jew, his Muslim faith and sense of identity are thrown into flux.

I’ve seen Djalili live a few times and he hits all the right spots. Whilst I can’t condone his price comparison website adverts, I would say that if you want to see one of the UK’s best stand-ups on the silver screen this would be a good opportunity.

Shelter

Dr. Cara Jessup (Julianne Moore) has made a career out of defying the notion of multiple personality disorders. In the courtroom, her views and testimonies as an expert witness have resulted in the death sentence of more than half a dozen murderers. Cara is devoted to science, but even her husband’s horrific murder did not cause Cara to lose her faith in God. After a particularly troubling court case, Cara’s father Dr. Harding introduces her to his new patient – Adam (Jonathan Rhys Meyers). The more she unearths about Adam, the more her life and those closest to her are endangered. Racing against the clock to solve the mystery surrounding Adam, Cara must not lose faith or it could have grave consequences for her and her family.

Apart from having the world’s longest ever synopsis, I can’t massively endorse you running out to see this one. Give it a whirl if you can’t get in to see Whip It or I Am Love.

Have a great weekend and thanks for reading.

Sexy Rob

About Rob Orme

Brown is the new Black.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

