//
cast your eyes over this
// feref, // funsies, // me

Film 2010 – With Sexy Rob

Hello! Happy New Year!

Firstly apologies to those of you who actually read this, I have been suffering with a healthy dose of man-flu and cheeky chest infection for good measure, hence the lack of content and hilarious witticisms on this undoubtedly scintillating blog-page-thang. My Christmas was something of a write off due to illness. Plus, getting thrown out of my parents house at 5 in the morning due to some drunken behaviour by myself and a few friends (The Wow & Mrs Fitch), was a low-light of the festive period.

Either way, I’m back and brain dumping in full force once again. To kick off the year I feel the first post should reflect my passion and thankfully my job, so I’ve decided to give you my top pick of films that will moisten your appetite, to hopefully get your ass on a cinema seat in this new decade.

In no particular order the films I’m most looking forward to this year are:

Iron Man 2

The first instalment was epic. JF did a great job directing and in the words of my flatmate/wife “Robert Downey Jnr is a hero!”. On the basis of this new trailer and the 1sheets that have been released, suffice to say I will be beating off people with a sparkly shoe to make sure that I get to see this on opening night. Wetter than an otter’s pocket for this… You should be too.

Toy Story 3

Ahhh…. Toy Story. The memories. Myself and young man by the name of Derek Cartwright went to see this at the Odeon cinema almost 10 years ago to the day… Who would have thought that a decade later I would be working on it. Good job I watched the films on repeat whilst at Uni. There’s one thing I learnt… Uni chicks dig a guy with a Buzz Lightyear bedspread. Sadly, that is no longer the case and just looks weird. Anyways… the third instalment should be as awesome as the first two, after all John Lasseter and the Pixar gang have had long enough to make sure that what they release in July is absolute gold. I will be attending the premiere in my Woody outfit… Yeah I’ve got a Woody outfit! What of it?

Scott Pilgrim

I’ve had the pleasure of reading the graphic novels over Christmas and I’m super psyched for this. Bryan Lee’O Malley’s stories about chap called Scott Pilgrim who falls for a girl by the name of Ramona Flowers and must, in order to win her heart, defeat her 7 evil Ex boyfriends. For me to try and explain what and how the story developes and how Scott “defeats” the ex boyfriends would be a stretch for me. I would recommend the books as the humour of them is fantastic. Will this translate into a great film though? I certainly hope so. With Edgar “Spaced, Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz” Wright at the helm, it should have a great blend of fast-paced editing to complement the abstract melting pot of humour. It also stars Michael Cera, who we all know was brilliant in Superbad. There’s no trailer yet, but there are a few stills from the film kicking around the net.

Alice in Wonderland

The PR team here at Feref Towers are all over this at the mo, and from what I’ve seen, it should be immense. The trailer looks brilliant and Johnny Depp may be on course to create another classic character, in the same way he did for Captain Jack Sparrow. The details looks out of this world, but then that’s what I would expect from Mr Tim Burton, who still remains one of my favouritist directors. Helena Bonham Carter (Big T’s wife) steals the trailer with her “pig” line. I for one will be sleeping with whoever I can to get a ticket to the premiere… I can only hope that you will assist me in my quest.

Shrek Forever After

So, I’m a big fan of the Shrek films. All three of them. I think they are great entertainment and I could listen to Eddie Murphy voice an animated donkey all day. Expect big things this summer when Shrek rolls back into cinemas. In this latest instalment Shrek makes a deal with Rumpelstiltskin, but unfortunately for Shrek, doesn’t go the way he planned. Shabba.

Kick-Ass

I know little about this film beyond the fact that it’s directed by Mathew Vaughan, Nicholas cage has a cameo and the trailer makes it look incred. If you know any more please feel free to fill me in.

I also wanted to wrote about Clash of the Titans, The Book of Eli and Robin Hood, but my typing hand is aching and I want some food.

And finally…

Having already seen Up in the Air, The Lovely Bones and Green Zone, these also come highly recommended and I would suggest you stop reading this and get yourself to the cinema to see UITA this Friday!

Like this? Hate this? Let me know either on here or on Twitter

Sexy Rob

About Rob Orme

Brown is the new Black.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Film 2010 – With Sexy Rob

  1. Cheezy Weezy

    Posted by Daniel Millar | January 12, 2010, 1:41 am

Leave a Reply

